Was Gouffran Offside?

Last updated : 12 January 2014 By Footy Mad - Editor

The Ivory Coast international drilled home from distance in the 34th minute, but after speaking to assistant Stephen Child, Jones ruled out the goal.

It appeared that Jones and his official ruled that Yoan Gouffran – who was stood in an offside position when Tiote struck the ball – was interfering with an opponent by distracting Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart.

Cheick Tiote: “I don’t understand why the referee didn’t give the goal.

“I think it was Gouffran who was next to the goalie, but he didn’t touch it. I don’t know why the assistant referee decided to give offside.

“That’s football, we need to accept it and go forward.

“I’m so disappointed today, but I think we played well and that’s the most important thing. We can take it on to the next game.”

Alan Pardew: "I have gone and seen him. I was right behind the shot, as the fourth official was, and it was a clean strike.

"It was a great moment for this football club to get a goal like that, so if you are going to chalk it off, you need to make sure that you are getting the point right.

"My point was did he think Gouffran was interfering with Joe Hart, and he said, 'He was in the six-yard box', and I get that.

"The guy was recovering from an offside position, he didn't want anything to do with the play, but he is not interfering with Joe Hart's vision. In fact, it goes on the inside of him.

"The Man City players are impairing Joe's vision, not Gouffran.

"It's a real technical matter that he's talking about here, and to chalk a goal off of that quality, that takes some doing, I think, and it did set the tone for the rest of the game.

"I think if you are going to call a guy retreating from an offside position, it has to be pretty clear that he is interfering with the goalkeeper's view.

"The linesman, even though he was on the wrong side, couldn't have been clear on that, and the referee definitely couldn't have been clear on that."

However, Manuel Pellegrini was confident that the referee, who consulted assistant Stephen Child before making his decision, had got it right.

He said: "There was a player offside when the other player kicked the ball. It was offside and was perfectly not valid at all."