Pardew Accepts FA Charge!

Last updated : 21 August 2012 By Footy Mad - Editor

Pardew was formally charged with a breach of FA rules yesterday afternoon after he pushed referee's assistant Stuart Burt in the back during Sunday's 2-1 win over Tottenham.

The Magpies boss has until 4pm on Thursday afternoon to respond to the charge, but he has already expressed remorse for his actions in the immediate aftermath of the game.

However, Pardew could still opt for a personal hearing in an attempt to limit the length of any touchline ban.

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger received a one-match ban when he pushed fourth official Martin Atkinson in September 2010, but Pardew's actions could be deemed more serious as they led to him encroaching onto the playing area.

He is expected to inform the FA of his position before he leaves for Greece tomorrow morning ahead of Thursday's Europa League qualifying-round game with Atromitos.