Who Won What!

Last updated : 09 December 2017 By Footy Mad - Editor

Rafa Benitez has praised the “pride and passion” of Jamaal Lascelles and Matt Ritchie after the Newcastle United duo were jointly named as the North East Player of the Year.

Image result for Newcastle Utd v Leicester CityBoth players were crucial in helping the Magpies lift the Championship title last season and achieve promotion back to the Premier League, with Lascelles captaining United to the achievement.

The pair have been recognised by the North East Football Writers Association, with journalists from the region split in their votes for the two Magpies.

Benitez was far from surprised that Lascelles and Ritchie have been recognised, with the United manager stressing that the duo are examples to their team-mates.

“I think that both played really well for us, it was a great season last season and this year they have started really well,” Benitez said.

“I am not surprised you have given them [that award]. They represent the pride and the passion and the commitment that everybody is expecting from Newcastle players - they are a good example of that.”

Lascelles and Ritchie are the third joint-winners of the North East Football Writers Association’s player of the year award, sponsored by William Hill.

They follow David McCreery and Neil McDonald in 1987, and Nyron Nosworthy and Dean Whitehead back in 2007.

Former Sunderland keeper Jordan Pickford also retains the Young Player of the Year award, while Black Cat Victoria Williams is Ladies Player of the Year.

The 38th North East Football Writers Association’s Annual Player of the Year Dinner will be held on Sunday, February 11, at the Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf Club and Spa in Durham.

Awards will also be presented to Jermain Defoe, Blyth Spartans, Spennymoor Town and South Shields.