No Toon Players In PFA Team Of The Year

Last updated : 29 April 2013 By Footy Mad - Editor

PFA Team of the Year

David De Gea (Manchester United), Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Leighton Baines (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Gareth Bale (Tottenham), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Robin van Persie (Manchester United).

Luis Suarez's name was booed twice at the Professional Footballers' Association Player of the Year awards.

The PFA came under fire last week for their refusal withdraw Suarez from its Player of the Year shortlist after he bit Branislav Ivanovic during Liverpool's game against the Blues at Anfield.

In a room full of fellow professionals and other guests at the Grosvenor Hotel in Mayfair, central London, where the awards were handed out, the controversial Uruguayan's name was booed on two occasions.

The first time came when he was named in the team of the year, and secondly when his name was read out on the short list for Player of the Year, in which he finished second behind Gareth Bale.

Suarez, who has scored 23 goals in the league this year, received an eight-match ban for racially abusing Manchester United defender Patrice Evra last season.

Suarez was the only Liverpool player named in the team of the year.

Premier League top scorer Robin van Persie was one of four Manchester United players to be included in the XI.

Van Persie, who moved to Old Trafford from Arsenal last summer, has scored 25 goals so far this term to help United win their 20th Barclays Premier League title.

He was joined in the Team of the Year, which is voted for by the players, by team-mates David De Gea, Rio Ferdinand and Michael Carrick.

Deposed champions Manchester City only had one member in the team - Argentinian right-back Pablo Zabaleta.

Gareth Bale, who also won the Player and Young Player of the Year awards, earned a place in the team, while his Tottenham team-mate Jan Vertonghen was named in central defence.

Chelsea duo Juan Mata and Eden Hazard were also included, as was Everton left-back Leighton Baines.

PFA Players' Player of the Year
The following have won the PFA Players' Player of the Year award whilst playing for Newcastle United :

1996  Les Ferdinand
1997  Alan Shearer

PFA Young Player of the Year
The following have won the PFA Young Player of the Year award whilst playing for Newcastle United :

1988  Paul Gascoigne
1994  Andy Cole
2002  Craig Bellamy
2003  Jermaine Jenas
PFA Team of the Year
The following have been included in the PFA Team of the Year whilst playing for Newcastle United :

1974  Malcolm Macdonald (First Division)
1979  Peter Withe (Second Division)
1980  Peter Withe (Second Division)
1983  Kevin Keegan (Second Division)
1984  Kevin Keegan (Second Division)
1985  Chris Waddle (First Division)
1987  Peter Beardsley (First Division)
1988  Paul Gascoigne (First Division)
1990  Micky Quinn (Second Division)
1993  John Beresford,  Lee Clark,  Gavin Peacock (First Division)
1994  Peter Beardsley (Premiership)
1996  Robert Lee,  Les Ferdinand,  David Ginola (Premiership)
1997  David Batty,  Alan Shearer (Premiership)
1998  David Batty (Premiership)
2002  Shay Given (Premiership)
2003  Kieron Dyer,  Alan Shearer (Premiership)
2006  Shay Given (Premiership)
2010  Fabricio Coloccini,  Jose Enrique,  Kevin Nolan,  Andy Carroll (Championship)
2012  Fabricio Coloccini (Premiership)