Carver Fooling Himself!

Last updated : 18 January 2015 By Footy Mad - Editor

Referee got a penalty claim sadly wrong, and Newcastle should have had a penalty.

But Carver's claim that the decision could cost him the Newcastle job is well wide of the mark.

He has seen out three games and lost all three. No way will Mike Ashley make any choice on the strength of a penalty claim.

John Carver, asked if he wanted an end to the uncertainty, he said: "Absolutely, I think everybody does.

"I think I do, I think all the staff do, I think all the players do, I think the crowd certainly does and I am sure you guys do, so yes.

"I hope so. I have had no conversations again since we last spoke on Thursday. I have totally focussed on this game today.

"I still love what I do, I still want to do it, there's no danger of that. But sometimes, it's out of your hands.

"Riviere's shot hit Jose Fonte's hand.

"It's a penalty, there's no danger it's a penalty.

"If the ball hits his hand and he's in a natural position, then you say maybe ball to hand, but not when you have got an L-shape and it smacks it straight on the palm of your hand, it's a penalty.

"That's a stroke of luck or fortune.

"We had a little bit in the first half with the goal, but you need a stroke of luck and a bit of fortune like that because jobs are decided on decisions like that and unfortunately, we are the guys who suffer because of that, not the officials."