Big Sam Will Get 5 Years - Only If He Produces!

Last updated : 04 July 2007 By Footy Mad - Editor

Allardyce has admitted it could take him five years to revive the Magpies' fortunes, something he will NOT get if struggles with the job. Who would?

Newcastle deputy chairman Chris Mort: "Sam is in a very similar position to us in that he is new to the club.

"He is looking very closely at the playing side and seeing what we can do to develop the playing side, and absolutely, we appreciate that takes time to develop.

"Sam is a great appointment - obviously not our appointment, but we have absolutely no problems with the role Sam has got and we are sticking with him."

Allardyce was appointed by chairman Freddy Shepherd in May before Ashley launched his takeover, and it has been noted how quiet Shepherd has been since the take-over.

He will be paid for two years now he has parted with his shares, a clause interestingly put into his contract by himself. And the impression we get from Ashley is 'he's getting paid so he can do something for it'.

But that 'something' is not going to be much. Mort seems happy to ease himself into the job, and he looks to be the mouthpiece for the club in coming months.

Mort revealed funds will be made available, but declined to put a figure on the size of Allardyce's kitty.
He said: "There certainly will be more signings. Sam is definitely going to take the lead on the football side. He is going to lead the charge in deciding who the club needs.
"He and I speak on a very regular basis. We will work together to decide who to bring in, but he is going to lead the charge on that.
"There is more money in the kitty. We are not going to talk about numbers, but he and we see areas of the squad that could be strengthened, and we will look to do that."


1994 3rd - Kevin Keegan
1995 6th - Kevin Keegan
1996 2nd - Kevin Keegan
1997 2nd - Kenny Dalglish (From Jan 1997)
1998 13th - Kenny Dalglish
1999 13th - Ruud Gullit
2000 11th - Bobby Robson (from Sept 1999)
2001 11th - Bobby Robson
2002 4th - Bobby Robson
2003 3rd - Bobby Robson
2004 5th - Bobby Robson
2005 14th - Graeme Souness (from Sept 2004)
2006 7th - Glenn Roeder (from Feb 2006)
2007 13th - Glenn Roeder