Krul Gets His World Cup Dream!

Last updated : 31 May 2014 By Footy Mad - Editor

Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal has named his 23-man World Cup squad, with Robin van Persie and Ron Vlaar making the cut.

Manchester United striker Van Persie will skipper the side in Brazil, before linking up with Van Gaal at club level next season following his appointment as the new boss at Old Trafford.

Aston Villa defender Vlaar will be hoping to secure a berth at the heart of the back four, while Newcastle United's Tim Krul and Swansea City's Michel Vorm will compete for the goalkeeping jersey.

Jonathan de Guzman, who has impressed during two loan spells at Swansea, is also included, while former Manchester City midfielder Nigel de Jong and ex-Liverpool forward Dirk Kuyt add important experience to the ranks.

Hamburg playmaker Rafael van der Vaart misses out through injury, but the creative talents of Galatasaray's Wesley Sneijder and Bayern Munich's Arjen Robben should have the Netherlands pushing hard for progress out of a tough Group B which also includes Spain, Chile and Australia.

Patrick van Aanholt, Jean-Paul Boetius, Karim Rekik and Tonny Vilhenna are among those to have been dropped from the provisional party.

Netherlands' 23-man World Cup squad:

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Michel Vorm (Swansea City)

Defenders: Daley Blind (Ajax), Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord), Daryl Janmaat (Feyenoord), Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Bruno Martins Indi (Feyenoord), Paul Verhaegh (Augsburg), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Joel Veltman (Ajax)

Midfielders: Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord Rotterdam), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea City), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Leroy Fer (Norwich City), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV Eindhoven)

Forwards: Memphis Depay (PSV Eindhoven), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev), Robin van Persie (Manchester United)