Carver hit with misconduct charge

Last updated : 10 March 2004 By Martyn Elliott

A statement on the FA’s official website read: “Newcastle's John Carver has been charged with Improper Conduct (Rule E1) following an incident at the end of the Birmingham City v Newcastle United Premier League match on January 31.

Carver entered the field of play to remonstrate with referee Rob Styles.

“The FA has reviewed video evidence of the incident, resulting in the charge.

“Further to conversations with Rob Styles, The FA is aware that Carver subsequently apologised to the referee. This will be taken into account.

“Carver has 14 days to respond to the charge.”